Music for a Summer’s Evening

Date: 9 Jul 2011 - 19:30
End Date: 9 Jul 2011 - 22:00
Music Community:
Event details:

A light-hearted summer evening of choral works.

Pierre Villette (1926–98): Three motets
Frédéric Chopin (1810–49): ‘Raindrop’ Prelude
Marc de Ranse (1881–1951): Première Symphonie Vocale
Arthur Sullivan (1842–1900): Evening
Franz Schubert (1797–1828), arr. Woodward: Wanderers Nachtlied
John Cage (1912–92): 4’33’’
Joseph Barnby (1838–96): Sweet and low
Charles Dibdin (c.1745–1814), arr. Woodward: Tom Bowling
Charles Trenet (1913–2001), arr. Woodward: La mer
Richard Rodgers (1902–79) and Oscar Hammerstein II (1895–1960), arr. Clay Warnick: Selection from South Pacific

Free strawberries and sparkling wine will be served on the banks of the Cam during the interval. Tickets always sell quickly for this concert so do book early!

Tickets go on sale on approximately one month before the concert. Tickets are also available from the Cambridge Corn Exchange Box Office (Wheeler Street, Cambridge CB2 3QB; tel. 01223 357851) or by emailing

Ticket info £14, £12 (concessions), £6 (under 16s)
Event location show map
Posted by Ralph Woodward


Moving Tone endeavours to promote and publicise live music in rural and urban Cambridgeshire. We wish to reflect the landscape of live music locally in Cambridgeshire at as little direct cost as possible to lovers and organisers of good music. To assist us in this, we ask for a donation to help us maintain our service.

You can donate by using a credit/debit card through paypal by clicking the button below, or send a cheque to us made payable to Moving Tone, 6A Green End, Comberton, Cambs CB23 7DY (please mark the back of the cheque: DONATION). Thank you.