Collegium Laureatum - Dvorak Mass in D and Faure Requiem

Date: 28 Jun 2008 - 19:30
End Date: 28 Jun 2008 - 22:00
Music Community:
  • Conductor: Ian Cobb. Organist: Richard Sands. Soloists: Augusta Hebbert, Edward de Mickwitz
Event details:

Collegium Laureatum Conductor: Ian Cobb Organist: Richard Sands


Soloists: Augusta Hebbert, Edward de Mickwitz

Dvorak wrote his Mass in D major in 1886. Dvorak's main publisher refused to publish this work because the original scoring was for choir and organ. However, the London firm Novello accepted it on condition that he provide an orchestrated version as well. He did this in 1892. Collegium Laureatum will perform the orginal version.
Faure dedicated the Cantique de Jean Racine to Cesar Franck. It was Franck who conducted the first performance at the Societe Nationale on 15th May 1875. The final piece will be Faure's Requiem. Collegium say : "We will not have to be so careful inviting you to this performance as Faure was when he invited his friends to the first (unfinished) version sung at a funeral. He said:"I shall be performing my requiem at 4.30 tomorrow, if you are passing the door, just drop in. Ask my friends not to sit together in case it begins to look like a performance! You must look as if you are there by chance."

can also be purchased on the door if still available



Ticket info Tickets: £12 (£9 concessions). Corn Exchange Box Office (01223 357851) or or on the door
Event location show map
Posted by


Moving Tone endeavours to promote and publicise live music in rural and urban Cambridgeshire. We wish to reflect the landscape of live music locally in Cambridgeshire at as little direct cost as possible to lovers and organisers of good music. To assist us in this, we ask for a donation to help us maintain our service.

You can donate by using a credit/debit card through paypal by clicking the button below, or send a cheque to us made payable to Moving Tone, 6A Green End, Comberton, Cambs CB23 7DY (please mark the back of the cheque: DONATION). Thank you.