Britten Sinfonia - Bach Plus

Date: 19 Mar 2009 - 20:00
Music Community:
Event details: Programme details
JS Bach Keyboard Concerto No. 5 in F minor
Berg Lyric Suite
JS Bach Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor*
JS Bach Art of Fugue (movements)*
György Kurtág Signs, Games and Messages*
JS Bach Violin Concerto No. 2 in E*

The towering genius of Johann Sebastian Bach is the focus of this superb concert, which contrasts four of his works with two seminal 20th-century pieces by Berg and Kurtág. The unsurpassed master of counterpoint - the language of the Baroque - Bach wrote his Art of Fugue as a definitive exploration of the fugue form. Three Bach concertos are played by ‘scorchingly good' (The Times) young Russian violinist Alina Ibragimova. Kurtág acknowledges his debt to Bach in his Signs, Games and Messages, which includes ‘Hommage à J.S.B.', an exploration of a Bach-like melodic line.

Booking information
Tickets £tbc from Cambridge Corn Exchange Box Office: 01223 357851

Ticket info tbc
Event location show map
Posted by Sandra


Moving Tone endeavours to promote and publicise live music in rural and urban Cambridgeshire. We wish to reflect the landscape of live music locally in Cambridgeshire at as little direct cost as possible to lovers and organisers of good music. To assist us in this, we ask for a donation to help us maintain our service.

You can donate by using a credit/debit card through paypal by clicking the button below, or send a cheque to us made payable to Moving Tone, 6A Green End, Comberton, Cambs CB23 7DY (please mark the back of the cheque: DONATION). Thank you.