Anglia Ruskin Orchestra and Chorus

Date: 11 Dec 2008 - 19:30
End Date: 11 Dec 2008 - 21:30
Event details: Milhaud - Symphonie no. 1 (Le Printemps)
McPhee -
Milhaud -
Symphonie no. 2 (Pastorale)
Debussy (
arr. Grainger) - Pagodes (Estampes)
Milhaud -
Symphonie no. 3 (Sérénade)
Milhaud -
La Création du Monde
Fauré -
Cantique de Jean Racine*
Fauré -

Three of Darius Milhaud's delightful Petites Symphonies frame a first half of early twentieth-century music featuring the Balinese-inspired Nocturne, by the American composer Colin McPhee, Percy Grainger's luminous arrangement of Debussy's Pagodes for large percussion ensemble and four pianos, and Milhaud's jazz-inflected masterpiece, La Création du Monde.

The second half of the concert features Anglia Ruskin Chorus in a performance of two of Gabriel Fauré's most popular and serenely beautifully settings, Cantique de Jean Racine and the Requiem.

"Everything I managed to entertain by way of religious illusion I put into my Requiem, which moreover is dominated from beginning to end by a very human feeling of faith in internal rest." - Fauré

Booking Info:
ATickets available from the Mumford Theatre Box Office: 0845 196 2320


Ticket info £8 (£5conc)
Event location show map
Posted by


Moving Tone endeavours to promote and publicise live music in rural and urban Cambridgeshire. We wish to reflect the landscape of live music locally in Cambridgeshire at as little direct cost as possible to lovers and organisers of good music. To assist us in this, we ask for a donation to help us maintain our service.

You can donate by using a credit/debit card through paypal by clicking the button below, or send a cheque to us made payable to Moving Tone, 6A Green End, Comberton, Cambs CB23 7DY (please mark the back of the cheque: DONATION). Thank you.